2016 Annual Meeting Recap

The Iowa Food Cooperative’s 2016 annual meeting and potluck was held on Saturday, Dec. 3rd at Grace United Methodist Church in Des Moines. We had a great meeting with wonderful food. As we finished our meal, Gordon Graham of Novae Vitae farm shared pictures from a market in Peru his family visited – inspiring us with both the wonderful colors and the overwhelming amount of food.

Gary Huber, General Manager, shared some information regarding the evolution of the IFC since it started in 2008. Carrie Cook, IFC Treasurer, presented the financial picture of the organization. The fiscal year that ended on June 30, 2016 was a good year, ending well in the black. The fiscal year that we are currently in is not looking as good – we will need to cut some expenses from the budget and increase sales. Tony Thompson, outgoing board president, made special mention of the need for all of us to work together to help the IFC succeed by reaching out to new members. IFC business cards were shared with everyone so that they could be given to friends, family, and co-workers.

We talked about having been at the downtown (Des Moines) winter farmer’s market the weekend of Nov 18-19, and being there again Dec 16-17. Volunteers are still being recruited to staff the table (contact Lisa Bean if you would like to help out for a couple of hours). We are also starting a distribution site in Pleasant Hill on the east side of Des Moines, with the first distribution there being Dec 8th.

Board Election Results

New Producer Board Members
Ryan Marquart, Wild Rose Pastures
Andrew Joseph & Catherine Rihm, Meadow BlazingStar Honey

New Consumer Board Members
Kelly Bassett
Susan Ekstrom

Potluck Cooking Contest Winners

Most Iowa Ingredients
Brant Kassel (recipe here)
Norma Ames

Crowd Favorite
Linda Hanson (recipe at Iowa Girl Eats)

Golden Okra Award Winner

Kim Riemenschneider Jackson won the Golden Okra award for referring the most members to Iowa Food Cooperative. 24 members have joined because of Kim during the last five years. Thank you Kim!


Special thanks to Iowa Orchard for donating cider for the meal.

Please read outgoing board president Tony Thompson’s comments here.